skip navigation

West Region

West Region .
Mobile Team ID: 1189426

WEST REGION NEWS & UPDATES

 

Check your brackets Friday night or Saturday morning before the event (Trackwrestling.com). 

If you have issues immediately email Wendi Gross with the problem: wendi.l.gross@gmail.com

 

No changes after 8:00am Sunday morning



West Region Weigh-in Sites

Location Address Day Time
Northview High School - Northview Use the Athletic wing Entrance (back of school) 4451 Hunsberger NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49525 Friday 6:00PM – 7:00PM
Allendale High School 10760 68th Avenue Allendale, MI 49401 Friday 6:00PM to 7:00PM
Belding 850 Hall Street Belding, Michigan 48809 Friday 7:00PM to 8:00PM
Belding Next to the High School Football Field
Hart High School 310 300 W Johnson Street, Hart, Michigan 49420 Friday 6:30PM to 7:30PM
Hart Mat Room. Entrance is on South side of gym.
Ravenna Middle School 2700 S. Ravenna Rd, Ravenna, MI 49451 Friday 5:30PM to – 7:00PM
Muskegon Reeth Puffer Middle School 1545 N Roberts Rd. Muskegon, MI 49445 Friday 6:30PM to 7:30PM
THORNAPPLE KELLOGG HIGH SCHOOL - Please use South Entrance 3885 Bender Rd, Middleville, MI 49333 Friday 6:00PM-7:00PM

West Region Board Members

Name Position Email
Steve Gross Executive Director sgross@matcor-matsu.com
Ami Nadolsky Secretary/IT ami_mwf@yahoo.com
Wendi Gross Head Pairer wendi.l.gross@gmail.com
Karl Nadolsky Head Referee karlnadolsky@yahoo.com
Wendy Koolstra Treasurer wendykloostra@gmail.com
Jeff Frick AT Large jefffrick@rocketmail.com

2018 West Region Clubs & Contacts

Allendale WC Doug Meekhof dougm5@gmail.com
Chris Bannister allendalewc@hotmail.com
Belding Folkstyle Art Ward artwardjr@gmail.com
Rebecca Maycroft bkywclub@gmail.com
Broncos WC Matt Mooney mmooney@compenginc.com
Blair Kloosterhosse broncoswc@hotmail.com
Byron Center Andrew Emmitt a.w.emmitt@gmail.com
Chad Wood chadwood74@gmail.com
Ken Ottow k-tottow@hotmail.com
Caledonia WC Steve Norman stevenwnorman@gmail.com
David Schnurstein David.schnurstein@gmail.com
Heather DeHaan heatherdehaan@gmail.com
Calwrestlingclub@gmail.com
Cedar Springs WC Jacquie Troup jacquietroupe@gmail.com
Scott Marsman scottrmarsman@gmail.com
Comstock Park WC Jennifer LaVallee cpyouthwrestling@gmail.com
John Mckay
East Grand Rapids WC Sheryl & Chris Lee leefamily1911@gmail.com
Kelly Lepley kelly.lepley79@gmail.com
FHC Mat Club Charlie Alm Charles.alm@att.net
Coach Anderson banderson@fhps.net
Forest Hills WC Brian Lambert brian@furnituregroupllc.com
Fremont Wolf Pack WC Brad Myers bradmyers760@yahoo.com
Jen & Will Prewitt willandjenprewitt@yahoo.com
Jeff Thom jthome@ncat.net
Fruitport Kevin Lee krlee@mtu.edu
Dominic Dault dominic_dault@yahoo.com
Grand Haven YWC Adam Cook nonsparker@gmail.com
Johiah Rodriguez siah_rodriguez@yahoo.com
Grand Rapids Christian WC Ferrell Clark ferrellclark@ferris.edu
Grand Rapids Wrestling Academy Chrissy Gant gant.chrissy@gmail.com
Dale Gant dalehgantii01@gmail.com
Grandville WC Trisha Priest trisha.priest@gmail.com
Chad Gritter cgritt55@gmail.com
Tommy Graverson tgraverson4@yahoo.com
Coach Gritter rgritter@gpsbulldogs.org
Grant WC Michelle Kaminski kaminski623@gmail.com
Mike Roesly Mikeroesly@all.com
Greenville WC Gabe Brimmer gsbrimmer@gmail.com
Juliane Giles Juliane.Giles@spectrumhealth.org
Greenvile Elite Catherine Daily catdaily1114@yahoo.com
Hart Attackers Brad Atland miaaltland@yahoo.com
Ken Bronkema ken@tricityrestoration.com
Hesperia WC Kimberly Rosencrans krosencrans77@yahoo.com
Holland WC Jeremy Myers J.Myers@cityofholland.com
Hook & Catch WC Corey Ottgen cjotis83@gmail.com
Hudsonville WC Terry McAlary bourzac@sbcglobal.net
Brennan Leeuwenberg bleeuwe@hpseagles.net
Ionia WC Amy Wilkinson awilkinson@ioniaisd.org
Rick Charon charonsdrivingschool@hotmail.com
Jenison WC Anton Barynas ajbarynas22@gmail.com
Kenowa Hills WC Rob White rwhite@concretecentralinc.com
Brian Gorman pm1morecast@yahoo.com
Kent City YWC Wendy Kik wkik@tricountyschools.com
Chad Kik chad.kik@kentcityschools.org
Kentwood WC Greg Hudkins gregandstacie36@comcast.net
Paul Hollamon paulhollamon@gmail.com
Ben MeMaagd ben.demaagd@gmail.com
Lakewood WC Tony Harmer harmert@lakewoodps.org
Alex Smith simonconstruction80@gmail.com
Little Red Devil WC Tim Elmer timelmer1984@gmail.com.
Justin Domanski justindomanski@gmail.com
Lowell WC Matt Dood matt@sportsaddix.com
Coach Boudro rjboudro@gmail.com
lowellwrestlingclub@gmail.com
Ludington WC Jerome Nickelson jpapa24@gmail.com
Mona Shores WC Jeremy/Amy Coffey shoresyouthwrestling@gmail.com
Derek Stout stout4boys@gmail.com
Montague Wildcats WC Bill Darke darkebill@yahoo.com
Muskegon WC Chandler Ricks cricks@mpsk12.net
Sue Murar susiemurar@yahoo.com
Northview Wildcat YW Rita Burns rburns@mhgi.net
Cathi Rohen cathirohen@gmail.com
Orchardview WC Bruce Zitka goov@comcast.net
Jace Learn learn@reeths-puffer.org
Ravenna Al Kiester al_kiester@yahoo.com
Shawn Forner Shawnforner50@gmail.com
Rocket Wrestling Rachel Huntley youthwrestlingisgreat@yahoo.com
Chad Cook chad.cook@pb.com
Brad Couier bradcies86@aol.com
Rockford WC Angela Kroll akroll8@yahoo.com
Jason Bosscher jbosscher@SteelSupplyEngineering.com
Michelle Cook 25cook1974@gmail.com
Coach Richardson brichardson@rockfordschools.org
Saranac Youth WC Jayson Potter jaypotter1973@gmail.com
Jodi Potter Jodi.potter74@gmail.com
Scottville WC Coach Trim ktrim@mceschools.com
Mason County Central
Shelby WC Ed Felt lkayfelt@gmail.com
Lisa Felt
Sparta WC Rich Troeger richtroeger@gmail.com
Chris Troeger ctroeger@live.com
Rebecca Larsen spartawrestlingclub1@gmail.com
Spring Lake YW Garth Trask gtrask@springlakeschools.org
Kurt Kruger wrestling.is.4ever@gmail.com
Team Hazardous Nick Boucher anboucher@yahoo.com
Dave Gibson
Team Hendy Wrestling Michael Henderson teamhendy30@yahoo.com
TK WC Jason DeVore devodevore632@yahoo.com
Jason Curtis tkwclub@gmail.com
Luke Middleton
West Michigan Defenders Karen Zielinski Kzielink5@gmail.com
Dan Zielinski danzielinski20@gmail.com
West Michigan Pursuit David Andrus westmichpursuit@gmail.com
Bardra Chong barbra_chong@yahoo.com
West Ottawa WC Ryan Lancaster lancasterr@westottawa.net
Arik Jurries coachzywc@yahoo.com
Whitehall WC Scott Manoz smanoz13@yahoo.com
Tommy Dempsey whitehallwrestlingclub@gmail.com
Wyoming Wolves YWC Jeffrey Frick jefffrick@rocketmail.com
Zeeland WC Glen Drenten zeelandwc@gmail.com
Matt Tibbs zeelandwc@gmail.com
Jason Hoffman zeelandwc@gmail.com

2018-2019 MYWAY SCHEDULE

2018-2019 Statewide
Weigh-In Sites

Team Admins & Parents:  
If you have registration
issues please email
denise@mywaywrestling.com
before 10 am on Friday to help
you correct it before documents
go out to the events.

 

Club admins & parents registering for events:

MEMBERSHIP MUST BE PAID BEFORE YOU REGISTER FOR EVENTS

When tournaments offer Open & Novice together.  Age Groups 13-11 & 04-03 will only have Open Divisons. Age Groups 10-09, 08-07 & 06-05 will offer both Open & Novice Divisions. Please pick accordingly when signing up. If you register for both Open & Novice you will be put into the Open event by default. That must be corrected at weigh-ins.

Please choose an age group & weight class when signing up a wrestler. If you are competing in an event in an event in the Central, East, Southwest, or West this information can be changed after weigh-ins.  If you are competing in an event in the Far North, North, Northeast, or Metro this is MANDATORY to get you on the correct bracket.

Mywaybanner17

NOVICE Wrestler

Is he/she a Novice wrestler?

I will do my very best to give my short version when handling novice questions.
The definition of a novice wrestler has many other variables other than just two years of competition.
Unfortunately, in the past, we found some parents, coaches and clubs miss treating what novice is meant for.
As a result, we came up with something that we felt describes what a novice wrestler is.  

Every wrestler is different.  Our reasoning is pretty simple the wrestler’s ability to compete at the next level.
This is where we put our faith in the coaches  and parents to make the right choice.

Case # 1:
      You may have wrestler who has been wrestling for more than 2 or 3 years… and has never won a match or hasn’t been successful in placing in tournaments. Just hasn’t developed or matured yet.
          The wrestler likes wrestling, but by the “definition” isn’t considered novice.  But their ability and skill is still at the novice level.  We have told coaches and parents who have wrestlers that have this situation to leave them in novice. You must contact the director first.

Case # 2:
       You may have wrestler who has been wrestling for 1 year… and has won matches and even placed in tournaments.  The wrestler improves each week.
          By nature they are a good athlete.  Again by “definition” this wrestler is considered novice.   But their ability, skill and aggressiveness is that of an open or advanced wrestler.

In these two of cases  the definition really doesn’t apply. This wrestler is NOT a novice.

We rely on coaches, helpers and parents to use their judgment.  You know who wrestles and their ability and how aggressive they are on the mat.
We believe there are good people who will make the right decision – based on the wrestlers ability, skill level, and aggressiveness in a competitive level. 
 Our goal in MYWA and in the West Region is to provide an opportunity for all wrestlers to wrestle all year at a level where they can have fun and develop.

 If a concern is brought to our attention, we will investigate.

Proper protocol for novice questions is to contact your coach or coaches with any questions or concerns, FIRST.  If they are not able to answer the question or concern, then THEY can contact Steve Gross, not the parents.