skip navigation

West Region

West Region .

WEST REGION NEWS & UPDATES

West Region

 

Check your brackets Friday night or Saturday morning before the event at www.Trackwrestling.com

If you see issues with YOUR wrestler, immediately email Wendi Gross with the problem: wendi.l.gross@gmail.com

If your wrestler has no one in their weight class, email Wendi and we will see what we can do to help you.  We will try to only delete sick wrestlers on Sunday morning.

We will not switch you from open to novice after noon on Saturday.

 

COACHES Please make sure to review your Coaches Card Profile before events.  All 4 ONLINE steps MUST be completed before 5 pm Saturday. The 5th Step (Coaches Conduct Form) must be brought to check in table the first event you attend after that we will have it on file to receive you coaches band.  See link below for all requirements.  

https://www.mywaywrestling.com/nuwaysafebyaps

COACHES ONLY will be mat side.

Now, just a reminder,  just because you have a wristband does not mean that you can stand mat side. There are 2 coaches per corner. Matches will be stopped until everyone is in the stands,  except for the two coaches per corner. Team mates are not permitted to sit mat side.

You will need to take pictures from the stands.  NO filming or picture taking will be permitted on the mats.

 

2021-2022 MYWAY West Region News ; Information and Update.

Good evening,  

Welcome back to all the wrestlers, coaches, admins, family and friends.

Coaches and Admins:   Please remember to relay all the information you have learned at our West Region meeting, to your club parents and members. I cannot stress enough, the importance and the need to meet with your club parents and membership and inform them of all the rules.  It is imperative that they are aware of the MYWAY policies and procedures; expectations; what needs to be done. As well as what are the consequences if the MYWAY policies, procedures and expectations aren't followed.  Here are some of the areas that we feel need to be reviewed with club parents and membership prior to the season beginning. 

  1. Pre-registering or signing up wrestlers or their wrestler.  
  2. Parents protocol for all questions
  3. Payment for tournament fees.
  4. Behavior & conduct for all wrestlers, coaches and parents either on the mat or off the mat.  That goes for any MYWAY event either in region or out of region; individual or team competition.
  5. Communicable disease & Skin Conditions - the proper protocol to following and form to be completed by the doctor.
  6. Qualification; requirement and who will be allowed on the tournament floor and at mat side.  How it will be policed and monitored.  It will be same for ALL MYWAY REGION Events/Tournaments.
  7. Only coaches that have been through all NUWAY protocol can be mat side, with a wristband.
  8. All parents/grandparents need to stay in the stands.  You cannot take pictures at mat side. If you are taking videos/pictures, you will stay in the stands.  Only 2 coaches are allowed mat side during a tournament.

For additional information, news and update please check the MYWAY Wrestling web page under the West Region or our Facebook page MYWAY West Region.

Thank you for your time, understanding and participation it greatly appreciated.

Steve Gross   MYWAY West Region Director

t. 616.902.5259 Between 6pm and 8pm only

e. sgross@matcor-matsu.com     

 

OTHER REMINDERS FOR 2021-2022:

Make sure wrestlers get registered by Thursday night at 10:00 PM.  Registration opens on Mondays.

No Additions after Thursday night. – If your club allows parents to pre-register their child, then we expect the clubs to train and show the parent on how to do it.

Must wrestle wearing a Singlet; Competitive shorts (shorts that you can wear in public) and t-shirts.  NO Boxers or underwear.

Tournament fees for the West Region will be paid at one time from one person per team.  Out of region wrestlers, you pay first thing on Sunday morning.

If you register and then do not show for the tournament, you owe the region the entire entry fee.  This rule is for every MYWAY tournament.



West Region Board Members

Name Position Email
Steve Gross Executive Director sgross@matcor-matsu.com
Wendi Gross Head Pairer wendi.l.gross@gmail.com
Treasurer/Secretary
Karl Nadolsky Head Referee karlnadolsky@yahoo.com
Ami Nadolsky IT ami_mwf@yahoo.com

2021-22 West Region Clubs & Contacts

Allendale WC Brittany Brown xbrittanyherrickx@gmail.com
Ron Silveira allendalewc@hotmail.com
Ares Wrestling CLub Owen Scott areswrestlingclub@gmail.com
Black Knights Youth Wrestling Club Art Ward artwardjr@gmail.com
Rebecca Maycroft bkywclub@gmail.com
Chad Csernyik chadcsernyik@gmail.com
Broncos WC Blair Kloosterhosse broncoswc@hotmail.com
Byron Center Andrew Emmitt a.w.emmitt@gmail.com
Derick Haight derrick.haight@gmail.com
Caledonia WC Steve Norman stevenwnorman@gmail.com
David Schnurstein David.schnurstein@gmail.com
Calwrestlingclub@gmail.com
Cedar Springs WC Jacquie Troup jacquietroupe@gmail.com
Scott Marsman scottrmarsman@gmail.com
Kevin Fitzgerald fitz6912@yahoo.com
Comstock Park WC Jennifer LaVallee cpyouthwrestling@gmail.com
Keta Bryant cpyouthwrestling@gmail.com
East Grand Rapids WC Sheryl & Chris Lee leefamily1911@gmail.com
FHC Mat Club Coach Anderson banderson@fhps.net
Forest Hills WC Brian Lambert brian@furnituregroupllc.com
Jason Mann jason.g.mann@gmail.com
Cameron Butler cameronbutler10385@gmail.com
Fremont Wolf Pack WC Ryan Ingersoll ingersoll99@gmail.com
email club @ fremontwolfpackwrestling@gmail.com
Fruitport Kevin Lee krlee@mtu.edu
Dominic Dault dominic_dault@yahoo.com
Grand Haven YWC Adam Cook nonsparker@gmail.com
Grand Rapids Christian WC Ferrell Clark ferrellclark@ferris.edu
Grand Rapids Wolverines Keith Reid kreidjr@grandrapidswilverines.com
Grandville WC Chad Gritter cgritt55@gmail.com
Coach Gritter rgritter@gpsbulldogs.org
Stacey VanPortfielt stacyvanportfliet@gmail.com
Grant WC Amy Chase amychase.0308@gmail.com
Lara Bromley larabromley08@gmail.com
Greenville WC Benjamin Fleet benjaminrfleet@gmail.com
Greenvile Elite Catherine Daily catdailey1114@yahoo.com
Hart Attackers Brad Atland miaaltland@yahoo.com
Hesperia WC Kimberly Rosencrans krosencrans77@yahoo.com
Holland WC Jeremy Myers J.Myers@cityofholland.com
Hook & Catch WC Corey Ottgen cjotis83@gmail.com
Hudsonville WC Rick Bolthuis rmbolhuis@gmail.com
Matt Workman mworkman@gpsbulldogs.org
Ionia WC Luke Smalley lsmalley@ioniaisd.org
Jenison WC Anton Barynas ajbarynas22@gmail.com
Kelloggsville Brandon Branch bbranch@kvilleps,org
Kenowa Hills WC Doug Reich dreichjr14@gmail.com
email club @ kenowahillsyouthwrestling@gmail.com
Kent City YWC Wendy Kik wkik@tricountyschools.com
Chad Kik chad.kik@kentcityschools.org
Kentwood WC Shane Krontz Uselesstrivia1@gmail.com
Ben DeMaagd ben.demaagd@gmail.com
Lakewood WC Tony Harmer harmert@lakewoodps.org
Alex Smith simonconstruction80@gmail.com
Little Red Devil WC Justin Domanski justindomanski@gmail.com
Lowell WC Matt Dood matt@sportsaddix.com
Coach Boudro rjboudro@gmail.com
Dustin Cichocki dicichocki@lowellschools.com
lowellwrestlingclub@gmail.com
Ludington WC Jerome Nickelson jpapa24@gmail.com
MIGRTC JJ Johnson migrappler@gmail.com
Mona Shores WC Patrick Lemay patrickalemay82@gmail.com
Montague Wildcats WC Chris Aebig cdaebig@yahoo.com
Muskegon WC Chandler Ricks cricks@mpsk12.net
Northview Wildcat YW Rita Burns rburns@mhgi.net
Cathi Rohen cathirohen@gmail.com
Orchardview WC Alicia Learn alicialynn0307@hotmail.com
Jace Learn learn@reeths-puffer.org
Ravenna Shawn Forner Shawnforner50@gmail.com
Grayson Kloostra
Rocket Wrestling Al Hairston Jr alhairston33@gmail.com
Angela Stafford angi21mus@gmaill.com
Rockford WC Coach Richardson brichardson@rockfordschools.org
Jeff Swendrowski rockfordwc@gmail.com
Saranac Youth WC Jayson Potter jaypotter1973@gmail.com
Jodi Potter Jodi.potter74@gmail.com
Scottville WC Coach Trim ktrim@mceschools.com
Shelby WC Ed Felt lkayfelt@gmail.com
Lisa Felt
Sparta WC JenniferLarsen spartawrestlingclub1@gmail.com
Mickey Larson mlarson@naturashield.com
Spring Lake YW Garth Trask gtrask@springlakeschools.org
Kurt Sapp ksapp49441@gmail.com
Team Hazardous Nick Boucher anboucher@yahoo.com
Team Hendy Wrestling Michael Henderson teamhendy30@yahoo.com
TK WC Jason DeVore devodevore632@yahoo.com
Scott Szczepanek sszczepanek@tkschools.org
West Michigan Defenders Karen Zielinski Kzielink5@gmail.com
Dan Zielinski danzielinski20@gmail.com
West Michigan Pursuit David Andrus westmichpursuit@gmail.com
Bardra Chong barbra_chong@yahoo.com
West Ottawa WC Ryan Lancaster lancasterr@westottawa.net
Arik Jurries coachzywc@yahoo.com
Whitehall WC Scott Manoz smanoz13@yahoo.com
Thomas Jenkins coachjenkinsjwc@gmail.com
Wyoming Wolves YWC Jeffrey Frick jefffrick@rocketmail.com
Joe Petersen j_peet25@yahoo.com
Bill VanDyke lbetraders@gmail.com
Zeeland WC Glen Drenten zeelandwc@gmail.com
Josh Ledford Joshledford80@yahoo.com

2021-2022 MYWAY Schedule CLICK HERE

 

Team Admins & Parents:  
If you have registration
issues please email
denise@mywaywrestling.com
before 10 am on Friday to help
you. After 10 am Friday you will need to contact the Head Pairer listed on the bottom of your event flyer to make any corrections.

 

MYWAY STATEWIDE WEIGH-IN LOCATIONS

Mywaybanner17

NOVICE Wrestler

Is he/she a Novice wrestler?

I will do my very best to give my short version when handling novice questions.
The definition of a novice wrestler has many other variables other than just two years of competition.
Unfortunately, in the past, we found some parents, coaches and clubs miss treating what novice is meant for.
As a result, we came up with something that we felt describes what a novice wrestler is.  

1st: If you have placed in regionals or in the state tournament, regardless of how many years you have wrestled, you are NOT a novice wrestler.

Every wrestler is different.  Our reasoning is pretty simple the wrestler’s ability to compete at the next level.
This is where we put our faith in the coaches  and parents to make the right choice.

Case # 1:
      You may have wrestler who has been wrestling for more than 2 or 3 years… and has never won a match or hasn’t been successful in placing in tournaments. Just hasn’t developed or matured yet.
          The wrestler likes wrestling, but by the “definition” isn’t considered novice.  But their ability and skill is still at the novice level.  We have told coaches and parents who have wrestlers that have this situation to leave them in novice. You must contact the director first.

Case # 2:
       You may have wrestler who has been wrestling for 1 year… and has won matches and even placed in tournaments.  The wrestler improves each week.
          By nature they are a good athlete.  Again by “definition” this wrestler is considered novice.   But their ability, skill and aggressiveness is that of an open or advanced wrestler.

In these two of cases  the definition really doesn’t apply. This wrestler is NOT a novice.

We rely on coaches, helpers and parents to use their judgment.  You know who wrestles and their ability and how aggressive they are on the mat.
We believe there are good people who will make the right decision – based on the wrestlers ability, skill level, and aggressiveness in a competitive level. 
 Our goal in MYWA and in the West Region is to provide an opportunity for all wrestlers to wrestle all year at a level where they can have fun and develop.

 If a concern is brought to our attention, we will investigate.

Proper protocol for novice questions is to contact your coach or coaches with any questions or concerns, FIRST.  If they are not able to answer the question or concern, then THEY can contact Steve Gross, not the parents.